top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMargot Saites

Turning Margonese, I really think so - Day Twelve

Updated: Sep 27, 2023

This morning I went for a walk to do the usual konbini haul. This time I went somewhere new and found a great store. I even had a long (relatively) conversation with the guy serving me. Not sure how much understanding was happening on both sides but it was good. We wanted to go to the Rainbow Bridge today so this time, I did a bit of homework in advance!

The Rainbow Bridge is a suspension bridge crossing northern Tokyo Bay between Shibaura Pier and the Odaiba waterfront development in Minato, Tokyo, Japan.

Construction began in 1987 by Kawasaki Heavy Industries, and was completed in 1993.

The towers supporting the bridge are white in color, designed to harmonize with the skyline of central Tokyo seen from Odaiba. There are lamps placed on the wires supporting the bridge, which are illuminated into three different colors, red, white and green every night using solar energy obtained during the day. It is said, that's why it is called The Rainbow Bridge - because of the colours.


The Rainbow Bridge carries three transportation lines on two decks. The upper deck carries the Shuto Expressway's Daiba Route, while the lower deck carries the Yurikamome rapid transit system in the centre. Walkways are on the outer side.


There are two separate 1.7 km walkways on the second deck called the Rainbow Promenade: From the north route, you can view the inner Tokyo harbor and the Tokyo Tower, while the south route offers a view of Tokyo Bay and even Mount Fuji (If you're lucky!)



We got off at Tomachi station and it's really quite a nice area. Quiet, for Tokyo, and it was about a kilometre walk to the start of the pedestrian walkway on the Rainbow Bridge.



























This is the start of the walkway on the bridge. It's very noisy due to the traffic.


The bridge itself rumbles with vibration which can be a bit unnerving but the views of Tokyo are breathtaking.
































At the end of the bridge we are in Odaiba. There's a nice beach area, and lots of shopping and food in the buildings behind the beach.






I think this is the FUJI TV building but not sure. Have to search to see what that globe thing is.









Not sure what she was doing there! There were lots of people taking her picture though.




We had this noodle and egg thing for lunch which was really delicious!




Washed down with some Cowpiss, err, I mean Calpis.


I know you can get it in Australia but it's still weird to say - I just HAD to order it.





Here's a few pics from our walk back across the bridge. The views really are breathtaking! My pictures don't do it justice.







Next stop was Tokyo Dome!


We are trying to get into a baseball game here on Sunday.

Tickets may be sold out though but I really wanted to go to an event here. You could see the rollercoaster from a bit away.

It is huge!!

And very scary looking.


It's nothing I would consider doing.




And then....

We found Bubba Gumps!!!!!



We decided to go in there for a drink.


The staff in here was just so nice! One of the girls kept trying to talk to me in Japanese because when she asked I said I spoke a bit. When you are ready to order, you flip that "Run Forrest Run" sign over and they come over and take your order. Guess who got the Coronarita and who got the smoothie!!!! They were both really delicious!!











We were having such a great time here we decided to split a dessert.











I've been trying to find matcha bread here so when I saw they had a matcha dessert, I had to get that.

This dessert tasted even better than it looks.











And now we have to plan tomorrow's day so for now, OYASUMINASAI

Oh... to prove we are also eating Japanese, here is some sushi I had today. I'm getting into the sushi and onigiri here!

So delicious and healthy!


18 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page