top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMargot Saites

Turning Margonese, I really think so - Day Seventeen


Today we said goodbye to Tokyo. Our bus left Ikebukuro at 9.15. It was so sad.

Goodbye Tokyo.

Hope to see you again soon.

Early this morning we got on our bus to Narita. I was reading about the food specific to this area and one of them is Unagi If I see this, I will RUN because Unagi translates to Eel and no, I don't want to try it. You may remember way back in our first week, in Osaka, we bought fans. How many times do you think we've used the fans since we've been here? 😁 How many times do you think we wished we had our fans with us but didn't? 😁 Ah well, at least one will make a nice addition to my home office desk when we're back.

We will be spending the next couple of days in Narita which is a town next to the airport. Instead of Air BnB though, this time we are in a hotel and Deno managed to get us a really good sized room.

I mean I'm shocked. It's bigger than both of the Air Bnb's we were in!


The facilities look really good.

There's even a toy for mumma!


If I feel brave enough that is.


Probably not really allowed to play this one.




The only trouble we have had up till now is trying to understand the guy behind the desk. He's not Japanese though that doesn't mean anything.

We just can't understand him and I feel so bad. I don't know if he's being nice, angry or asking questions that are remaining unanswered. I just can't understand what he's saying.

Because we got here before check in time, we stored our luggage and went for a walk. I really really wanted to see the Naritasan Shinshoji Temple but Deno wanted to see the Aeon Mall. He's promised me we're going tomorrow.

So we set out walking seeing interesting things and walking on roads with bare minimum footpath space. Some areas seem more traditional or rural while others are modern.





And this Mamma Pasta doesn't look Japanese at all!! Lots of Italian restaurants here including one in this hotel we're staying at.

They seem to really love Italian food.

And then Deno heard the angels singing and like a beacon of light it appeared and lit our way, drawing Deno with as much power as a Starbucks or McDonalds would. It's a pretty interesting place actually. It was huge and we didn't even go through a lot of it. We had conversations with staff where little was understood on both sides but that's okay. The minute I say a little bit in Japanese they start spewing full paragraphs at me and I can't help but look stunned. But so far, apart from the unreadable hotel guy, everyone has been so friendly and nice.

I had some yummy sushi for lunch. Being a novice, I didn't know what those things on the right are but they tasted fishy and good. If you know what it is, please let me know. For a terrifying second, I thought the dark bits in the sushi were anchovies but phew... even if they were they didn't taste of them.



UPDATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We have since found out that this HOTEL IS HAUNTED! I don't believe in that stuff but when you see lots of different sources online with stories, it makes you feel a bit prickly!





oh boy oh boy oh boy We did more tonight but I'll write about it tomorrow. I'm so creeped out!!! For now, OYASUMINASAI





25 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page