top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMargot Saites

Turning Margonese, I really think so - Day Three

I have never slept so good as I have these last couple nights. It's either a different bed, effects of the heat, or the bone tiredness. I love it!


Today we've planned to go to Minoo falls. The pictures of it looks so beautiful I can't wait to see it. With all this humidity and all that water we're sure to be sharing the space with one million mosquitos but it will still be worth it.


I'm also hoping to practice my Japanese more. It would be easier if the Japanese people would only use the phrases used in my Japanese classes.


Two apples please

I don't eat raw eggs

Do you have miso pork cutlets?

On Friday I have six classes.

Is Professor Smith's class interesting?



OR if I could talk, they understand, and then I walk away. Because the minute they start talking back in actual sentences I look like a stunned reality contestant who's had too much botox/filler. Our train had this sign up on the window. Our discomfort however, was not mild



We got to Umeda and while walking to our next station, noticed a huge line! You can't tell in the picture but it goes for ages. When we got to the front, we realised they were just lined up to get into the Hankyu Department Store. Nothing special going on, just wanted to be there when the doors open. Even if that was still going to be an hour away.

Once we got off the train we went to the Information Map, to see how to get to Minoo Falls. But after a quick glance, decided to go with the flow of people. They know where they're going right?





I just loved walking here!! It felt like we were walking through an older Japan. So peaceful. Hot, but peaceful





The Falls were pretty! I should have taken a video. Saw this sign on the way back which gave me pause!!!!

But, as there's just ONE I guess we should be okay

We got some icecreams from a vending machine, including this one in Deno's hand that you can "drink".



We were so hot that putting it against our skin soon melted it.


Interesting way to have icecream.




We don't have that in Australia do we?





And sadly we were on the way out. I loved this place. Despite the crowds it really was Just serene and a pretty gentle climb really. Oh, and I got to speak Japanese with a lovely lady who owned one of the cafes on the way up. I mean, I almost feel like a local now! We went back to Umeda for lunch. The ordering was done via a tablet on the table. Each seat in the restaurant has it's own tablet. This is what mine looked like on the tablet.


and this is what came out!

Pretty true to picture!! Mcdonalds/Hungry Jacks could learn a lesson here! And it was huge!!! When the lady brought it to me I thought "oh my god" and said "ōkīdesu" and she laughed and said

"That's what she said" No seriously, she said "ōkīdesune"and we both had a little laugh. See, I'm a natural.


In all the many times we've been to Osaka, we've never seen the castle at night so we decided to go down there tonight because it's supposed to look pretty all lit up. It was so dark walking through the park! There were lots of people around and strange noises that I thought were people fighting, but Deno said they were animals. I'm not sure which I would have preferred it be. Here's a few pics I took on the way, and at the castle.




Lastly I'll leave you with the wisdom imparted on the walls of the restaurant we were in for lunch OYASUMINASAI





27 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page