top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMargot Saites

Turning Margonese, I really think so - Day One

This morning I woke up, turned to my husband sleeping peacefully in bed and in my most seductive voice said "Nihon ni iki mashou"

Groggily he looked at the time and said "We haven't got time, we've got a plane to catch"



This time, I'm going to be there with a pretty basic knowledge of Japanese but I still wonder if I'll be confident enough to use it. I hope so!




We boarded our Jetstar flight to Osaka - and as the plane filled I could see Deno eyeing off an empty row. He asked one of the cabin crew if we could sit there and she said if it was free after take off it was available on a first come, first served basis. I wish I could describe to you the precision with which Deno acquired these seats. It was just spectacular!



Oh and just a quick tip, avoid seeing who is flying your plane at all costs if you plan on having a peaceful flight. The two flying ours were aged approximately 15 and 85. Okay, slight exaggeration but only slight. I could go on about our flight but you want to know about Japan right! I honestly didn't believe I was going to be here today!! We got our baggage and went through customs pretty quickly and soon found ourselves at the train station in the airport.

I went to the counter and said "英語を話しますか" and luckily she said yes - because if she said no I probably would have been in trouble.



Now wouldn't you know it, the place where we're staying in Osaka is 20 meters from COOLABAH - the Australian Bar. We've been in there before on a previous visit and didn't plan on going again but tonight, they were showing the Melbourne/Carlton game and there was only 2 minutes left. Omg how exciting was it!! But there were a bunch of Aussie yobbo's watching it inside. We didn't want to be associated with that so we watched outside in a much more dignified manner.













It was quite late when we got into Osaka but after settling into our air bnb, we still had to walk to Dotonbori and enjoy being in one of our favourite places. If you're familiar with it, we're located right in the heart of Americamura. Location location location! It was also REALLY hot. I mean we have never ever been here at these sorts of temperatures. It's warm and a little suffocating. A lot suffocating. I hope it's not going to stop us walking around exploring because I love doing that. I'd rather walk than train.


We ended up buying way too much alcohol and a little bit to eat and went back to our nice, cute little room. Oh, and alcohol is SO CHEAP here compared to Australia. We bought a bottle of Canadian Club for 1080 yen which is not much more than $11 Australian. I KNOW!!! amazing right! We also bought some limoncello while trying not to remember the Italy limoncello incident.

Pace yourself Margot, pace yourself. So excited for tomorrow!! I still can't believe I'm actually here!

OYASUMINASAI


57 views0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page