top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMargot Saites

Turning Margonese, I really think so - Day Eleven

I keep telling everyone about the amount of people who ride bikes here. Not the lycra wearing kind, just normal people who are wanting to get from one place to another. Going to work? then they're riding dressed for work. Going to the store? They have their shopping bags with them. I took a couple videos at an intersection. This is completely usual all through the day.







Lots of poles and wires in places. Imagine having this just outside your balcony



Most shops open around 10-11 here. That's a bit hard to get used to for early birds like us. On the other hand, they are opened very late even on weekend and that's so convenient!





We hopped on the train and went to Shibuya.


We wanted to walk from there to Yoyogi park then onto Harajuku.



We started off at Shibuya and of course, did the bit pedestrian cross. This time I took video as I walked instead of filming from the Starbucks across one of the roads. But you still get some idea




Took a pic at the fire station.


Aren't their trucks the cutest! They look like play things.






We spent a long time shopping!! Didn't find anything but Japanese clothing is really starting to grow on me. We went into this one store that was geared for young girls. We turned around but the young guy in there started talking to us in English. I said "There's nothing for me in here" but he said no, they had plenty and started showing me all kinds of things that I wouldn't even have worn as a teenager. He really really really wanted to make a sale!!! I said I was looking for a dress. He said they had dresses and showed me this mini mini dress. I mean.. I wouldn't even have worn that as a top! I bought nothing.



After we were shopped out, we started down to Yoyogi Park.


It was nice to leave the throngs of people to be honest.


I mean I know Japan is busy and it has always been that way when we've come, but I just feel like there's more and more people everywhere this time.






















After Yoyogi park we went to Harajuku.

I love Harajuku!!

First thing we did was go into an IKEA store - Like I've said before, people aren't into Ikea here.

The stores are not that big - well the three we've been in haven't been. This one didn't even have the one direction thing happening and there were multiple entrances on different floors.

I did want to have a look at what food they were offering though and we saw these pear icreams!


They looked good and it was hot so we treated ourselves. Much better than the soft serve they do in Adelaide!






We walked down the famous Takeshita Street and took the obligatory photo.

I realise this post is lacking in facts about this area but take a look at this link if you want to know more. We came during the day so people were relatively normal. The fashion is amazing though!!

I mean if I was younger... Takeshita street itself didn't seem to be as dynamic as the last time we were here. Not sure why but a lot of shops were gone/closed. Needs a refurbishment or something.


And then.....

LOOK WHAT I SAW!!!

My excitement was short lived though as this is only a store where you can see and touch Shein items. You can't purchase from here. It's like a try before you buy online. We didn't go in. I mean, no point if I can't take it with me.



We went into a very cool guitar shop that had a cafe in it also. Lots of interesting things on the wall and well laid out. Greeters at both doors which kind of made me not want to go in because they looked more like guards but we went in and they were nice.









We walked and walked and walked today. So far, and all to look for somewhere to eat. I don't know why it's so hard. It shouldn't be this hard. After walking all the streets of Harajuku and not finding anywhere, we hopped on the train and went to Shinjuku. I didn't take any photos because I was so tired and we were really just walking not knowing where we were going. We couldn't find the area where we were last time - last night? the days are bleeding together. So we walked and walked and walked. While we walked, we looked for somewhere we could eat. Nothing. Nada. 何も (Nanimo) We were well over 20 000 steps at this point and had had nothing to eat. So, we decided to go back to Ikebukuro where we're staying, and find somewhere there. It was so good to sit and have something to eat. We both had beef bowls. Again, no picture because I was deliriously tired by this time. It was so delicious though! I don't know if it was so delicious because I hadn't eaten, or if it really was but I was grateful either way.

Strengthened by our meal we walked some more...


And got some more goodies including some Sake! I know there's all different kinds. Not sure what I've got here but it tastes good. On the way back from the store this woman on a bike started furiously waving. I thought she was trying to say we couldn't go that way but she just wanted to make friends. She talked a bit then Deno told her I'm learning Japanese so we talked a bit in Japanese. She was lovely but that's not normal as most people tend to keep to themselves. That's their way.


I think we've been overdoing it a bit these last few days. We really want to go to Yokahama and go over the Rainbow Bridge too so better do some planning!! For now,


OYASUMINASAI Leaving this picture here. Saw it in Yoyogi park and had to take a snap for my sister Nadia ❤️


23 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page