top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMargot Saites

The trick is, you missed out on treats.


Halloween was only ever something I saw on American TV as I was growing up. It was never a thing here in Australia but boy did I wish it was! Free treats! Oh yeah I'll be in that!



Although, I'm not sure how safe it would have been at that time, when parents let their kids play unsupervised in the streets for hours.

I mean what's the danger in letting your children go knocking on the doors of strangers houses asking for sweets? Nothing bad could happen right?

So, it was probably a good thing it wasn't around when I was a kid.


Now every year I see us Australians embracing it more and more. Although I don't see a lot of houses decorated, there are plenty of young kids walking around in costume and I'm sure there'll be a few parties on tonight!


I better make sure to have my lights off though because there are no sweets in my house! (Except for moi hahahahaha) Not that we have trick or treaters coming down our street.


Am I jealous of today's kids? Yeah sure, but I'm also glad that I didn't have just more one thing to do as a parent. Costumes for this, uniforms for that. Just one more thing for parents to have to do to keep up with one another!


Finally, I just wanted to leave you with the text I sent my, now adult, children today.


Hope you have a spooky but treat filled Halloween!!!


36 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page