top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMargot Saites

Say my name, say my name




For the last twelve months, we’ve had magpies regularly fly into our balcony and wait patiently for a cracker.


I’ve been deathly afraid of mapies in the past but I must admit, it’s pretty cool to see them up close. They sit there and sing to us.



If we’re not on the balconly, they’ll come up to the balcony doors and peer inside.


It’s pretty cute really.


To help overcome my fear I’ve been reading up about them and found out that although not common, they can somtimes imitate human speech just like parrots do. So, as I quietly sit at my work from home desk inside the house, I frequently hear that man I call my husband on the balcony talking to the magpies.


“Hello Deno. Hello Deno. Can you say, Deno? Deno? Come on, just say it. Deeeeenoooooo. Hello Deno”


2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page