top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMargot Saites

Psssssssssst did you hear about..... ?


Here's the thing about gossip.

Everybody knows they shouldn't, but sometimes it's glorious to indulge in it. That is, until it's about you.


Recently, I was part of a bitch/gossip session and it was one of those things where we knew we should't be saying what we were, but the more we validated each other's feelings about the topic at hand, the more we were emboldened to speak.

We started off cautiously with a little remark that included a "disclaimer" in case we had to backtrack on what we were saying.

But the more affirmation we got from each other, the deeper we went.

We fed off each other's words and let our frustrations out into the open for a shared bonding experience.



That's what gossip does. It binds us to people who think like us, giving us a bit of temporary unity. Like other things that aren't good for us, it feels good in the moment (oh my sweet chocolate)

What we should keep in mind though is that the same people who are speaking with you about so and so, could be speaking to someone else about YOU.



Another thing to consider is this. If you're someone who regularly engages in gossip, even if you hide it under the guise of "I'm just concerned" you're feeding negativity into your mind and into the minds of those you're speaking to. If we always think the worst when we don't have the facts, what does that say about us?

Do we have to prove our lives are so much better by belittling the imagined lives and morals of others?



Excuse me while I brush my halo off, but I honestly don't think I do it that much. That's probably why I fell into it so deliciously just recently. In saying that, it's also not something I want to make a habit of.

There's people in my life who I'm very close to and I respect them immensely because they have never once gossiped to me about anyone - even though they probably had almost a right to at times.

That's character right there!

So I'd really like to try to be one of those people.


The older I get though, the more I realise that I really don't care what people say about me.

As long as my husband, children and immediate family love me, I can handle hate or ridicule from others. Those that really know me will always know the truth.

If people want to gossip about me or it entertains them to think things about me, I'm glad I'm able to provide that distraction. It's going to say more about them than me.



Ulitimately, there are enough bad things already happening in the world to bring us down so instead of encouraging gossip, let's find something else to talk about.

Isn't that what reality TV is for?





♥♥♥♥ So go out there and live your best lives ♥♥♥♥



Peace out






121 views0 comments

Opmerkingen


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page