top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMargot Saites

No offense but...

Are there any words more offensive than "No Offense but..."




Not long after my first marriage ended, I was out with some friends. We were talking about life, marriage, children, etc etc. All the deep stuff, when somebody said "No offense but when I get married, it's going to be for life"


Oh really.



Firstly, yes, I'm offended but I'll let you off because you haven't been married and are ignorant of your ignorance.



Who marries and thinks "Well this one is not going to be for life. I think I'll use this one to make a couple kids and potentially go into financial hardship. My next one will probably be the keeper but I'll reassess when the time comes."


That's not to say some people make very bad decisions when it comes to marriage or that you might even have some doubt that it will go the whole way for one reason or another, but you don't actually set out to think that it won't be for life.

In my opinion, when people marry, most of them think it's going to be for life.



Secondly, that phrase, "no offense but..." is not a license to say whatever you like. Do people really think you can say whatever you want simply because you put the "no offense but" disclaimer in front of it?


No offense but your breath is so bad I don't know whether to offer you a mint or toilet paper.

No offense but did you brush your hair today?

No offense but you've got the biggest feet I've seen in my life.



I think you get it.



I don't know whatever happened to the person who said "No offense but when I get married it's going to be for life" but geez I sure would love to know.

24 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page