top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMargot Saites

Is it cheap or is it just s*&#

I've gotten right into online grocery shopping in the last few months. My pantry has never been so well stocked! Seriously! I'm spending a little bit less, but my shopping is way more efficient. No more sneaky packets of chocolates or items from the bakery on the way out!

I feel a little bit weird about the neighbours seeing the Grocery van pull up every week. I mean what are they thinking? Wow that chick is so lazy she can't get her ass up off her chair to go shop for her own groceries? I don't know. In any case, it's not stopping me because it's cheap, $2 delivery, and I'm not buying the junk food I used to get. I can have a running list going - so as I know I need something, I add it to my shopping cart and at the end of the week, I just proceed to checkout!! I have all the specials available to me online so I don't have to hope I notice or remember any specials, I've got them all in front of me.

The beaut thing is I can also get alcohol. Guilt free. No judgement from the person behind the counter saying "wow she's been in here a lot lately" because there is no counter! I was searching through the alcohol specials today in preparation for this weeks delivery and saw this cabernet merlot pictured.

$3.00??? oh wait, it's normally $4 so that's a one dollar saving. But seriously, for three dollars, I wouldn't even dream that this would be drinkable. Am I being elitist or a realist? I recently went to a winery where they had a wine called "The Whole Shebang". I mean, who would call a wine that? That's like saying "We've just put in all the dregs and selling it cheap" And, in my life, I've never spit out wine but that one was NOT drinkable So, thank you supermarket but I will not be taking up your $3 bottle of wine offer and if you want to call me elitist for that, so be it. And my neighbours can continue to shift their curtains as our supermarket van rocks up to deliver our goods and I will have no guilt over that!






15 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page