top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMargot Saites

I'm offended!


There are so many things I want to write about but don't want to offend anyone.


Stupid isn't it.


I mean we all have different opinions about lots of things. Why should I be afraid of that?

And by talking about it rationally, we can explore and re-evaluate our own opionions.

Not to necessarily change them, just to challenge ourselves about why we hold the opinions we do and whether they're still valid.


But people get offended if you challenge their views.


"How can you believe that???"


Maybe, just maybe, I'm not telling you to change your mind, I'm only stating what I think.



The world is divided about Covid and vaccines right now. Of course I have an opinion and sometimes I even post on social media about it but I'm not going to tell others what to believe.

In saying that, I am concerned about myself or a loved one needing a hospital bed that is currently being taken up by an unvaccinated person.



Those that know me know I've become quite obsessed with the royal family lately. I have big opinions on Me-again and Haz-been. Bet you can't guess what they are.

And I hold potentially controversial opinions about Andrew as well - but I'm still contemplating those.


I think we need to go back and look at people's intentions before getting offended. If someone says something that I find personally offensive I can say something to that person in a nice way. "Hey, when you said or did that thing, it made me feel bad because of this and this. Do you think you could hold off when you're around me? Would that be okay?"



Other people say offensive things because they're daring you to react, just so they can aggressively say that they have the right to say whatever they want. "I'm just being honest"

Really. There are ways to say say things and still be honest. You can be cruel, or kind.

People do have a right to express their opinions aggressively if they want, but I can still think they're an asshole.


I hope we can all start learning to be a little kinder to each other and accept that the world would be a very boring place if we all held exactly the same opinions.


Be curious, respect your neighbour, and treat others how you'd want to be treated.


Peace out.


17 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page