top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMargot Saites

Hi, nice to meet you, let's get married


Married at First Sight is one of those shows you just love to hate.

Each year I swear will be the last Season I watch but as the next year rolls round I tell myself I'll just see who the new people are and then end up getting caught up in the drama of it all.


As the years have gone on I've tended to seek out all the "behind the scenes" news and the rumours and gossip, and that has really changed the way I watch the show.


I mean we all know that there is a certain degree of editing and influence from the producers, but when you hear past contestants or anonymous people who work behind the scenes talking about incidents that happen, versus what we see on television it makes you question what is really true.


Having said that, like with most reality shows, leave your brain behind and just be entertained by what they want to show you.




Domenica - Hot headed, fiesty Italian woman.

At first I didn't like her brashness. But from what I've seen of her on and off the show, I like her honesty. Maybe it's because as an Italian myself, I can relate to letting the emotions out and then getting on with life.

She doesn't hold grudges. Once you understand her personality, you can understand that her comments come from a place of caring - whether you care for her delivery or not. And for ffs Olivia, she apologised over and over for the glass thing (which was not in your face btw). What did you want? For her to write sorry in her own blood while bowing profusely at your feet?

Oh and her name is Domenica not Domenique-a. Why do some people continue to pronounce it wrong!



Holly - I felt sorry for her. Seemed traumatised by her experience and unable to string words together to make coherent sentences.





Olivia - I was onto her from the start! The way she was bragging about how good her relationship with Jackson was - much better than any of the other couples - showed what's really important to her. At that time I thought, why do you care about the others? Just concentrate on your own. As we know, every couple operates differently so what exactly are you measuring?

Back to the glassing incident, Dom apologised over and over. She was wrong, she owned it, but Olivia was the one who was making snide comments and talking about passing the cyanide. I mean, who, when asked to return a bridesmaid dress, cuts it up into little pieces and sends it back to the bride like that??? Who does that? This woman is pure evil. Jackson run and run fast!





Samantha - I like Smantha. She has her head screwed on right but she was paired with a child. She made the most of it but in the end, she didn't want a son, she wanted a partner - and one who preferably didn't drink from his sweaty shoe as a party trick.








Hard to comment on Selin and Anthony because we didn't get to see the whole story there. I was definitely on Anthony's side at the beginning but after hearing a few other things, not so sure...








Nice Selina. She just seems to lovely and bubbly and deserves to be with someone who is not a wet blanket like Cody. Also Cody, that hair, what is going on there?









Tamara - Hard to comment on her too. Sometimes I like her and sometimes I think she wants to come across and be seen as a successful, achieving woman, instead of just being one.









Carolina - Sorry, I just threw up a little bit in my mouth.











Kate - Wins the award for the person who says "let's be honest" the most.

I hope she's not as stunned and expressionless in real life as they make her seem on the show.

Also not sure her "never been in a relationship" claim is true. Would love to know what she actually classes as a relationship.

She's 38. Maybe her standards are just too high.








Jack - I just love the way Domenica accepted him from the start. They seem to have a good thing going. He seems very sweet and sincere so I hope those crazy kids make it.








Mitch - Poor kid doesn't know that on a reality show, there are cameras that follow you around and on a relationship reality show, they want to know how your relationship is going.










Daniel - oh no... just spewed up in my mouth again












Dion - She's just not into you mate. You can write poems and buy flowers, make dinner but if the chemistry isn't there, you can't force it. She's told you a million times, so you telling the camera that you keep trying is not doing you any favours. Let it go man.









Matthew - paired with "no expression" Kate. Surely he put the whole attraction to Kate thing on? Not that there's anything wrong with her but the way he spoke about her was like she was the best looking thing that ever existed. Too over the top mate! Just calm ya farm. If you had done that, you might have had a bit of chance.




I know I haven't covered them all but they were the ones who I had thoughts about.



Now the "experts". No one really thinks they're experts do they? I like Mel, I love Alessandra and I hate limpy, alpha male, John. We all know they don't pair the people together. That's done by producers. They're not looking to make actual matches, they're looking to make a successful television so this means maybe one or two of the couples are genuinely matched, the rest are destined for disastor and our viewing pleasure!!


So, will any couple make it from this season? I don't care!

All I know is, I can't wait for the next episode!


23 views1 comment

1 Comment


ndonato
ndonato
Mar 11, 2022

Yes agree with everything!!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page