top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMargot Saites

Did I ever think that was cute?


I once heard someone say something like this.

"Those things that you find cute when you're dating your partner, are the same things that will annoy the hell out of you once you've been together a while"


I found myself thinking about it this week and couldn't come up with one thing my hubby did that met this criteria.

Oh sure, I came up with an arms long list of things that were annoying, but I never found them cute, or did I?



What about understanding the comfort level of others as he struts about on our balcony in his underwear or even through the house when we have guests. "What?" he says "What about guys in speedo's on the beach? I could just be in my bathers"


I think, dear husband of mine, you'll find there's only a handful of men who can get away with wearing speedo's at the beach, let alone away from the beach.

"But I'm in my own house!" which, in his defense, is probably true if you don't care that we won't ever have anyone visiting again; Not to mention the unsuspecting people who just want to walk down the street without having to see a man of a certain age in his underwear.


So no, I never found that cute. That's not an example.



What about the way he owns the entire kingsize area of our bed? It doesn't matter that I'm almost falling out of a bed that could comfortably fit four. "But I'm so much bigger" he says.

In his defense, yes he is. He's 6'7" or 200cms and that does take up a lot of space. But even given that, he could comfortably stretch out on HIS side. He hasn't learnt how to shift from lying on one side to the other. When he shifts, he doesn't turn and lift so he stays in the same spot, he rolls. So he goes from being on his side of the bed, to mine. And he breathes through his mouth when he sleeps so guess where that breath goes. Right into my face. It's a hazard.


No, I never found that cute. That's not an example.



Now you might think it's a bit unfair of me to write about this stuff without giving him a right of reply. Believe me, he has an equally long list he could write about me and if he ever chooses to write about it, I'll be sure to link it here. Right honey?



What about you? Can you think of anything that drives you mad about your current squeeze that you once thought was cute?


Be sure to let me know!

27 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page