top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMargot Saites

A dirty little secret

Updated: Dec 2, 2021


One of my gal pals was recently talking about how she hides food in her house. She buys "secret" food, things like chocolate or alcohol, and hides it in places her family won't come across it so that she can enjoy it as her own special treat in her own special time.


It's innocently illicit.


Every time she talks about a stash of chocolate that she's sneaks, or anything else that she's keeping from her family, it makes me want to do the same thing!

Just for the excitement of potential discovery.

But it's just hubby and I here and he'd soon come across any hiding place I chose.

Plus, I don't need to hide anything, we both have a bit of a food addiction so we don't keep that stuff in the house and only have it when we have to go out and get it - mostly so that it's not an impulsive decision but a calculated one to indulge.




The reason this subject has come up again is that I recently heard a podcast where the girls were ALL talking about how they hide food from their hubbies and kids. What! What have I been missing!! I mean it really sounds like this is a thing! Am I the only one that's missing out?



So it got me thinking, what could I hide? Some nuts? Chocolate? Definitely chocolate. The only problem would be coming up with a reason the chocolate/nuts were in the cleaning bucket... or my makeup bag... or any other hiding place I could come up with.

I mean it seems petty.

But also a little bit thrilling. I'll have to give it some thought.


So how about you? Do you hide food from your significant other? Have you ever been discovered and had to come up with a reason other than "I didn't want you to have any plus I didn't want your judgement"?


I'd love to know!!




17 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page